• Scriptnotes, Ep 138: The Deal with the Deal — Transcript https://johnaugust.com/2014/scriptnotes-ep-138-the-deal-with-the-deal-transcript

    …ets a little bit more leeway for figuring out how to shoot that scene. It’s a significant evolution. Craig: Yeah, you can see in the Master Screen format — that’s what they’re calling it Master Screen format? John: Master Scene format. Craig: Master Scene format that everybody is starting to approach filmmaking in a more artistically free way. It is being unyoked from the factory. Early Hollywood was a factory. They would…

  • Scriptnotes, Ep 236: Franchises and Final Draft — Transcript https://johnaugust.com/2016/scriptnotes-ep-236-franchises-and-final-draft-transcript

    …often. It is way more expensive than any other option. So why? Where’s the value in it? The value, in a weird way, is in its format. Just because they were first, and because they were the leader for so, so long, their format, their file format is the industry standard file format. A little bit like the way VHS became the standard format for home recording even though, as many people will angrily say, Sony Betamax was a far superior…

  • Scriptnotes, Ep 136: Ghosts Laughing at Jokes — Transcript https://johnaugust.com/2014/scriptnotes-ep-136-ghosts-laughing-at-jokes-transcript

    …ow can you reflect that in a document. Because the experience of watching a movie is nothing like that page, I would hope. Craig: I agree. And in fact one of the things that I think we should think about as we invent our new format is to use the flexibility of digital format, so that the reader has a choice of when to call up extra information. It’s not imposed upon you. The page isn’t a scattered pastiche of text, and image, and…

  • Scriptnotes, Ep 134: So Many Questions — Transcript https://johnaugust.com/2014/scriptnotes-ep-134-so-many-questions-transcript

    …o be able to have a slug line go away and instead just show something. I want to be able to show an image if I want. I want a song to be able to be clickable. I want stuff like that. I want to be able to play around with the format and use what’s already available to us in almost every other format. You know, the web page is nothing like a newspaper page, at all. John: Yeah. Craig: And why are we — forget newspaper page. We’re…

  • Scriptnotes, Ep 305: Forever Young and Stupid — Transcript https://johnaugust.com/2017/scriptnotes-ep-305-forever-young-and-stupid-transcript

    …d in fact what you start to realize is that all of the stylistic variations ultimately are superficial. They are almost certainly employed to help the writer just do their job. Scott Silver writes in this kind of funky quasi-format format, but really it’s the format. It’s just that there’s a few stylistic differences. And it helps him do his job. It helps him write the way he writes. Everybody has those little quirks and bits and bobs. But none…

  • Scriptnotes, Ep 137: Draw Your Own Werewolf — Transcript https://johnaugust.com/2014/scriptnotes-ep-137-draw-your-own-werewolf-transcript

    …omething like this or this is what something looks like.” Not selling it. And it occurred to me that this became really — I don’t know, it came really ridiculous to me when I started thinking about how this format would actually work because let’s say we’re all on our iPads and we’re all reading the new August-Mazin format on our iPads and it’s connected to the Internet. And the way we’ve designed…